The Saco Museum is pleased to announce the artists selected for the 2012 Mill-ennial, the second in this series of juried biennial exhibition of local contemporary art. 48 works by 20 artists connected to Saco, Biddeford, and Old Orchard Beach were selected by the jurors and will be on view throughout the exhibition. The exhibition is on view at the Saco Museum and Engine in Biddeford, from April 6 through June 10, 2012.

Susan Amons
Peter T. Bennett
Sarah Bowen*
Pat Campbell *
Donna L. Caron *
Michele A. Caron
Sally Orth Chandler *
James Chute
Laura Dunn
Rachael Eastman
Tanya Fletcher
Tyson Jacques
J. Mark Koerber
Benjamin Lambert *
Cheryl Lichwell
Heath Paley
Robin Puleio
Richard Smukler
Nora Tryon *
Diane Bowie Zaitlin

(*Denotes work will be exhibited at Engine)

Exhibition checklist:

Artist's awards, including a juror’s prize and one or more purchase prizes (enabling artwork from the exhibition to be acquired for the Saco Museum’s permanent collection) will be announced at the FREE public opening reception on Thursday, April 5, at both Engine and the Saco Museum, from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m.

The Mill-ennial was conceived by the Saco Museum as an ongoing series of exhibitions showcasing new work by living artists connected to Saco, Biddeford, and Old Orchard Beach. The works on display present a full range of artistic media, from traditional painting and photography to assemblage sculpture. In recognition of the fact that the Cities on the Saco are part of a single creative community, the exhibition will be on view simultaneously in two downtown Main Street locations: the Saco Museum and Engine (, a new community arts organization in Biddeford that is “committed to designing, launching, and promoting community-based arts programming.”

The jurors considered the unique qualities of each exhibit space when selecting the works: large-scale painting by Rachael Eastman and Tyson Jacques, for instance, suit the large walls of the Saco Museum’s main gallery, while three-dimensional work by Benjamin Lambert and Nora Tryon, among others, are a good fit with Engine’s store-front windows and light-filled space.

The jurors for the 2012 Mill-ennial were Ron Crusan, Director of the Ogunquit Museum of American Art, Berri Kramer, President of the Heartwood School of Art, Kennebunk; and Andy Verzosa, Director of Aucocisco Galleries, Portland. The jurors will be present at the opening reception to award the Juror’s Prize, and they will also contribute to the exhibition catalogue, which will be at the Saco Museum gift shop, at Engine, and online by April 5, 2012.

The 2012 Mill-ennial was organized by the Saco Museum in cooperation with Engine ( Presentation and promotion of the 2012 Mill-ennial was made possible, in part, with an Arts Visibility grant from the Maine Arts Commission.